Indian government issues IPTV must-carry channel list

India’s information and broadcasting ministry has issued a list of 24 TV channels that must be carried by IPTV service providers in the country.

A ministry memorandum lists 21 channels from public broadcaster Doordarshan, along with government-provided parliamentary channels Lok Sabha TV and Rajya Sabha TV, and education channel Gyan Darshan.

The Doordarshan channels are: National, News, Bharati, Urdu, Sports, DD India, DD Kashir, DD Punjabi, DD Girnar, DD Sahyadiri, DD Saptagiri, DD Malayalam, DD Podhigal, DD Candana, DD Bangla, DD North East, DD Bihar, DD Uttar Pradesh, DD Rajasthan, DD Madhya Pradesh and DD Oriya.

All of India’s IPTV service providers must place the 24 required channels in the correct genre and display them in full screen, said the ministry. The memorandum says it will be obligatory for every IPTV service provider to provide these channels to their subscribers, irrespective of any packages or a-la-carte channel subscriptions they may hold.

The list of 24 updates an earlier list from the ministry.

We welcome reader discussion and request that you please comment using an authentic name. Comments will appear on the live site as soon as they are approved by the moderator (within 24 hours). Spam, promotional and derogatory comments will not be approved

Post your comment

Facebook, Instagram and Sky case study: Game of Thrones

BT at IBC: 'unlocking the power of fibre IPTV'

IP&TV News tries out 4G Broadcast at the FA Cup Final

Thomas Riedl: “Google TV has evolved into Android TV”

Tesco and blinkbox: what went wrong?

Reed Hastings and 2030: is he right?