Ten UK cities to share £114mn broadband pot

The UK government has named the ten cities due to share GB£ 114mn of state funds allocated to help improve broadband speeds in the country, with London unsurprisingly getting the largest chunk, but others not far behind.

The subsidies are expected to be used to build city-wide super fast broadband networks capable of delivering speeds of up to 100 Mbps (and presumably beyond at a later stage).

London will receive GB£ 25mn of the allocated funds, followed by Leeds and Bradford, which will divide £14.4m.

Belfast will receive GB£ 13.7mn, Manchester will get GB£ 12mn, Bristol will receive GB£ 11.3mn, Cardiff will get GB£ 11mn, Edinburgh GB£ 10.7mn, Birmingham GB£ 10mn and Newcastle GB£ 6mn.

Maria Miller, newly appointed Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, said: “These ten cities have produced ambitious and comprehensive plans, which will turn them into digital leaders, and give their local economies a real boost. The new investment will help put these cities at the centre of the digital stage, competing for jobs and investment with the best in the world.”

A further GB£ 50mn is to be awarded to ten smaller, unnamed cities. All the networks involved are due to be completed by 2015.

We welcome reader discussion and request that you please comment using an authentic name. Comments will appear on the live site as soon as they are approved by the moderator (within 24 hours). Spam, promotional and derogatory comments will not be approved

Post your comment

Facebook, Instagram and Sky case study: Game of Thrones

BT at IBC: 'unlocking the power of fibre IPTV'

IP&TV News tries out 4G Broadcast at the FA Cup Final

Thomas Riedl: “Google TV has evolved into Android TV”

Tesco and blinkbox: what went wrong?

Reed Hastings and 2030: is he right?